Skip to content
Euro 2020: Scotland to face Luxembourg and the Netherlands in preparations for the opening of the Czech Republic |  Football News

Scotland will face Luxembourg and the Netherlands as part of their preparations for Euro 2020 this summer.

Steve Clarke’s side will face Luxembourg away on June 2, then take on the Dutch in Portugal on June 6.

Clarke said: “Luxembourg and the Netherlands offer us two very different challengers, both of which are valuable to us ahead of our Group D matches.

“The games are an opportunity to build on the progress that has led us to the final and to refine what we all want to be a memorable comeback in a major tournament.”

Scotland are due to open their European Championship campaign against the Czech Republic in Hampden on June 14.


Steve Clarke explains how he chose his Scottish team during the lockdown and says he wants to lead the national team to the World Cup in Qatar next year.

UEFA plans to increase squad size in euros

UEFA is considering increasing the size of national teams for the European Championships this summer, due to the pressures players are facing due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

No decision has yet been taken by the governing body of European football, but the number of squads could drop from 23 to 25.

The tournament had to be postponed last year and there has been a lot of debate about how the multi-city event will work in the midst of a global pandemic.

Players have seen their schedules stretched and worsened by positive Covid-19 cases and isolation requirements, which have affected preparations for national and European matches.

The teams will also be able to make up to five substitutions in Euro 2020 matches after the approval of the UEFA executive committee. These measures will also apply to the UEFA Nations League finals and relegation play-offs.

Euro 2020: Scotland to face Luxembourg and the Netherlands in preparations for the opening of the Czech Republic |  Football News


Culture Secretary Oliver Dowden says he is ‘upbeat and optimistic’ that ‘many more’ than 10,000 supporters will be allowed to attend matches in England during the final stages of the European Championships in this summer

Ahead of the tournament, UEFA also lifted the 30% capacity limit at venues hosting European club and national competitions, with jurisdiction now entrusted to the relevant local authorities.

The chairman of the governing body, Aleksander Ceferin, has expressed his wish to see the supporters return to the stadiums for the pan-European tournament. A final decision on which cities will host the games is expected later in April.

The Euros are due to start on June 11, with the final set to take place at Wembley.

Culture Secretary Oliver Dowden is hopeful that a large crowd can attend the meeting at Wembley, but the capacity remains to be determined.

Meanwhile, the Danish government has said the Euro 2020 matches held there will be played in front of at least 11,000 fans.

Euro 2020: Scotland to face Luxembourg and the Netherlands in preparations for the opening of the Czech Republic |  Football News
UEFA President Aleksander Ceferin wants to see fans return to stadiums at this summer’s European Championships

When is Euro 2020? Hosts, dates, teams, meetings

Who arrived at Euro 2020 and how will the tournament work?

The coronavirus has postponed Euro 2020 for a year to 2021, but 24 teams will still play in 12 host cities in a football festival.

The top two teams from each of the 10 groups advanced to Euro 2020 and the remaining four positions were settled in the play-offs, with Scotland beating Serbia in a penalty shoot-out to join England and Wales at the tournament.

Here is the schedule confirmed to date.

When and where is Euro 2020?

The 16th UEFA European Championship takes place from June 11 to July 11, 2021, and to celebrate the tournament’s 60th anniversary, 12 cities from across the continent have been selected as hosts. The 12 cities and stadiums are:

  • Amsterdam, Netherlands) – Johan cruyff arena
  • Baku (Azerbaijan) – Olympic Stadium
  • Bilbao (Spain) – San Mames
  • Bucharest, Romania) – Arena Nationala
  • Budapest, Hungary) – Puskas arena
  • Copenhagen, Denmark) – Parken Stadium
  • Dublin (Republic of Ireland) – Aviva Stadium
  • Glasgow (Scotland) – Hampden Park
  • London, England) – Wembley stadium
  • Munich, Germany) – Allianz Arena
  • Rome, Italy) – Stadio Olimpico
  • Saint Petersburg (Russia) – Krestovsky Stadium

Rome’s Stadio Olimpico will host the opener on 11 June, while England’s Wembley National Stadium will host the semi-finals and final.

Source link