EU sanctions Russian defense chief, foreign ministry spokeswoman and RT editor — RT Russia and the former Soviet Union

Dozens of senior Russian officials, lawmakers and public figures are on the sanctions list

The European Union has imposed sanctions on a series of senior Russian officials – including Defense Minister Sergei Shoigu and presidential chief of staff Anton Vaino – as well as RT’s own editor Margarita Simonyan, accusing each to have contributed to “threaten the territorial integrity” from Ukraine.

In response to Moscow’s decision to recognize two breakaway Donbass republics, the EU decided on Wednesday to sanction hundreds of officials, lawmakers and even media personalities. Among the most senior officials sanctioned was Defense Minister Shoigu, accused of supporting the reunification of Crimea with Russia in 2014 and “actively support and implement actions and policies that undermine and threaten the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine as well as stability or security in Ukraine.


You can share this story on social media:


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button