Skip to content
EU lifts travel restrictions for US travelers

(CNN) – American travelers will finally be allowed to visit Europe again this summer.

The European Union’s governing body has recommended that the bloc lift restrictions on non-essential travel from 14 countries, including the United States, a move that would allow visitors to those destinations to spend much Europe vacations. easier.

In a statement announced on Friday, the European Council said member states should “gradually lift travel restrictions at the external borders” for residents of the following countries: Albania, Australia, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, New Zealand, Republic of North Macedonia, Rwanda, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, United States and China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity.

The UK was visibly absent from the list, which must be reviewed every two weeks.

While some countries, such as Greece and Spain, already allow fully vaccinated U.S. travelers and / or those who submit a negative PCR test, or meet other special requirements to enter, this recommendation means Americans could be authorized to travel to 27 EU member countries. States.

However, each Member State will have the option of imposing additional requirements, such as a mandatory quarantine period, negative PCR test or proof of vaccination.

The news comes more than a year after the ban on non-essential travel from America to the EU.

Currently, non-US citizens who have recently visited the EU or the UK are not allowed to enter America.

(Top image: Travelers at Frankfurt Airport in Germany look at a destination board showing canceled flights to America on March 12, 2020. Thomas Lohnes / Getty Images).


Source link