Dillian Whyte says Tyson Fury used ‘illegal’ move in heavyweight title fight


NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!

Dillian Whyte was knocked out by Tyson Fury in the sixth round of their heavyweight title fight at Wembley Stadium on Saturday.

Fury retained his belt with a devastating uppercut that connected to Whyte’s chin in the closing seconds of the round, sending him into the canvas.

But on Monday, Whyte argued that a push from Fury after the uppercut broke the rules and hurt his ability to recover.

CLICK HERE FOR MORE SPORTS COVERAGE AT FOXNEWS.COM

Britain’s Tyson Fury (R) lands a punch to knock out Britain’s Dillian Whyte in the sixth round to win his WBC heavyweight title fight at Wembley Stadium in west London on April 23, 2022.
(Photo by ADRIAN DENNIS/AFP via Getty Images)

“I was buzzed, but obviously I was trying to get my senses back and he pushed me hard…and I fell and hit my head on the canvas, which is illegal,” Whyte said in a interview with Sky Sports.

“It’s not wrestling, it’s boxing,” he added. “I should have had more time to recover and then keep fighting.”

After the hit, Whyte stood up and tried to show he was ready to continue before staggering towards the ropes, causing the referee to end the fight.

TYSON FURY RETAINS HEAVY BELT WITH TKO

Whyte admitted Fury caught him with a good punch, although he argued he should have had more time to recover. He also called the referee’s performance “terrible”.

Britain's Tyson Fury, left, takes aim at Britain's Dillian Whyte during their boxing fight for the WBC heavyweight title at Wembley Stadium in London on Saturday April 23, 2022.

Britain’s Tyson Fury, left, takes aim at Britain’s Dillian Whyte during their boxing fight for the WBC heavyweight title at Wembley Stadium in London on Saturday April 23, 2022.
(AP Photo/Ian Walton)

“I was hurt, I was trying to collect my senses, and he pushed me with both hands. It wasn’t like a one-armed thing,” Whyte added. “I should have had time to recover, time to get back to my corner, but Tyson Fury gets away with a lot of things.”

After the fight, Fury suggested he might step down, saying “this could be the final curtain for the Gypsy King.”

On Monday, Whyte didn’t hold back his words when asked if he wanted a rematch with Fury.

Britain's Tyson Fury, centre, celebrates after beating Britain's Dillian Whyte in their boxing bout for the WBC heavyweight title at Wembley Stadium in London on Saturday April 23, 2022.

Britain’s Tyson Fury, centre, celebrates after beating Britain’s Dillian Whyte in their boxing bout for the WBC heavyweight title at Wembley Stadium in London on Saturday April 23, 2022.
(AP Photo/Ian Walton)

CLICK HERE TO GET THE FOX NEWS APP

“Hopefully he doesn’t retire because I want another try,” Whyte said.

The Associated Press contributed to this report


foxnews

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button