Skip to content
Diana Taurasi voted WNBA’s greatest player of all time by fans


The WNBA announced on Sunday that Phoenix Mercury goaltender Diana Taurasi has been voted by fans as the league’s all-time best player. In honor of the league’s 25th anniversary season, the league encouraged fans to vote on the player who should be crowned the “GOAT”.

Taurasi, who is in the midst of a stellar playoff push to lead her team to the 2021 WNBA Finals, was considered the winner just before a Game 1 loss to Chicago Sky.

“Kudos to Diana Taurasi for being voted the best WNBA player of all time by fans who have followed her illustrious career and seen her rise above the rest,” said the WNBA commissioner, Cathy Engelbert. “This well-deserved recognition reflects her continued excellence on the court and her leadership role in advancing the WNBA and women’s basketball and as a role model for young athletes around the world. The opportunity to honor Dee is another special time to celebrate our historic 25th season. “

Taurasi is more than deserving with a long list of accolades that support his case as the greatest player in league history.

Taurasi’s name is all over the WNBA record books as the league’s all-time leader in points, field goals and 3 runs scored in both regular season and playoffs. . Her 14 All-WNBA team selections are the largest in league history, while her 10 WNBA All-Star selections are tied with Hall of Fame Tamika Catchings for most of all. time.

During his 17-year career with the Mercury, Taurasi won three WNBA Championships, two WNBA Finals MVPs and one WNBA Regular Season MVP.

After being drafted by Phoenix with the No.1 pick in the 2004 WNBA Draft, Taurasi averaged 19.4 points, 4.3 assists, 4.0 rebounds and 1.0 steals per game during his illustrious career.

The Mercury will even look to the WNBA Finals Against the Sky when Game 2 kicks off at 9 p.m. ET on Wednesday, October 13.

2021 WNBA Finals Schedule (Best of Five)

Sunday October 10 Game 1: Chicago 91, Phoenix, 77

Wednesday, October 13 Game 2: Chicago at Phoenix, 9 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Friday, October 15 Game 3: Phoenix at Chicago, 9 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Sunday, October 17 Game 4 *: Phoenix at Chicago, 3 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Tuesday, October 19 Game 5 *: Chicago at Phoenix, 9 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

* If necessary

** The WNBA Finals are a best-of-five series, played in a 2-2-1 format.


Source link