David Warner (92 Not-Out) inspires Delhi to dominating win over former Hyderabad franchise

David Warner played like a man with a point to prove as he inspired Delhi Capitals (DC) to a dominating 21-point win over his former franchise Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at Mumbai’s Brabourne Stadium on Friday May 5.

The win helps DC swap places with SRH on the 2022 Indian Premier League (IPL) points table as Rishabh Pant’s side find themselves just outside the playoff spots in fifth with the side of Kane Williamson falling to sixth place.

Warner (92 on 58 balls) found a batting partner who could not only match, but surpass his aggressiveness in Rovman Powell (67 on 35 balls) as together the duo fired Delhi to a dominating total of 207/ 3 .

Nicholas Pooran (62 from 34 balls) did his best to drag Hyderabad down the line but it was too little too late as Khaleel Ahmed (3/30) picked wickets at even intervals to make it three straight defeats for SRH.

Hyderabad’s chase started mediocre as Abhishek Sharma launched a long delivery from Khaleel straight to the short and thin leg in the 2nd. Williamson then edged a delivery from Anrich Nortje (1/35) to the keeper in the 5th with both SRH openers returning with single-digit scores.

Rahul Tripathi (22) then picked up a delivery from Mitchell Marsh (1/36) straight to the back square leg deep in the 7th as Hyderabad were reduced to 37/3.

Aiden Markram and Nicholas Pooran then assembled a 60-run 35-ball partnership to give Hyderabad hope. However, Khaleel got the breakthrough in the 13th when he caught Markram (42 on 25 balls) with a slower delivery.

Shashank Singh (10) didn’t last long as he guided a wide yorker from Shardul Thakur straight to short third man on the 15th. Khaleel then picked up his third of the night when he got rid of Sean Abbott (7) in the 17th.

Meanwhile, Pooran raised his fifty balls on just 29 balls and hit 6 sixes and 2 fours in an entertaining innings. The wicketkeeper striker looked in dangerous form but was outplayed by a high, full pitch from Shardul (2/44) which he sliced ​​long in the 18th.

Kuldeep Yadav (1/40) notched his only wicket, on an otherwise expensive night, in the final when he casted Kartik Tyagi (7) as Hyderabad only managed 186/8 in response.

Earlier in the game, Williamson won his ninth pitch in ten games and opted to go bowling. Hyderabad debuted Tyagi, Shreyas Gopal and Abbott while Delhi made four changes with Nortje, Mandeep Singh, Ripal Patel and Khaleel.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar gave Hyderabad a perfect start by starting with a maiden at the wicket in the first set, getting Mandeep caught behind.

Abbott then picked up a wicket on his debut when he took a smart return to get rid of Marsh (10) in the 5th. However, Rishabh Pant came out and shared a quick 48-run partnership to help Delhi recover.

Pant (26 from 16 balls) crushed Shreyas for three straight sixes and four balls from four in the 9th and was then executed by a wide full throw on the final delivery which he brought back to the stumps.

But Rovman Powell then came out at No.5 and shared an unbeaten 122-run matchup with just 66 balls with Warner to fire Delhi to their massive tally.

Warner raised his fourth fifty of the season to 12th and showed no signs of slowing down. The former SRH man hit 12 fours and 3 sixes during his time in the crease and went unbeaten on 92 from 58 balls.

Powell reached his fifty on just 29 balls and ensured Delhi finished with a flurry by crushing Umran Malik (0/52) for 19 points in the final. The Jamaican power hitter smashed 6 sixes and 3 fours to finish undefeated on 67-of-35 balls as Delhi posted an impressive 207/3 tally.


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button