Skip to content
COVID-19: United States to reopen land borders to fully vaccinated travelers next month |  US News

The United States will reopen its land borders for non-essential travel in early November, ending restrictions in place since March 2020.

Travel by vehicle, train and ferry between the we and its neighbors Canada and Mexico have been largely restricted to essential activities, such as commerce, over the past 19 months.

Foreign visitors will need to be fully vaccinated to enter the country – a rule that will also be in place for essential travelers – such as truck drivers – by mid-January.

Chuck Schumer praised the decision. Photo: AP

They will necessarily need to show proof of vaccination, unless they are referred by U.S. Customs and Border Patrol for secondary inspections, officials said.

Proof of a negative COVID-19 test will also not be required.

U.S. officials said the move would be officially announced later today.

Canada and Mexico have pushed the White House to relax travel rules that have hit border communities particularly hard.

Senate Democratic Leader Chuck Schumer welcomed the decision, saying: “Since the start of the pandemic, members of our joint cross-border community have felt the pain and economic hardship of closing land borders. That pain is on. about to end. “

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

COVID rules for UK arrivals simplified

White House staff said the “Title 42” order, which has essentially cut off asylum access for migrants since it was issued by former President Donald Trump, will remain in place.

A similar easing of restrictions is expected to begin for air travel around the same time.

The United States previously announced it would lift air travel restrictions early next month for fully vaccinated visitors from 33 countries, including China, India, Brazil and most of Europe.

Foreign visitors will need to show proof of vaccination and a recent negative COVID-19 test before boarding a flight.

The United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said Friday the country will accept travelers who have received vaccines approved by the United States or the World Health Organization.

These are the vaccines Pfizer / BioNTech, Moderna, Janssen (Johnson & Johnson), Oxford / AstraZeneca, Covishield, Sinopharm and Sinovac.