Counting begins with mail-in ballots; Bjp leads in 19 seats; Sp ahead in 18

Live Updates of Election Results in Uttar Pradesh:

The counting of votes in Uttar Pradesh’s crucial elections or UP vidhan sabha chunav began at 8 a.m. on Thursday, March 10. In the first postal polls, the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) alliance led by Yogi-Adityanath is expected to face the rival Samajwadi Party-RLD alliance led by Akhilesh Yadav.

While almost all the exit polls predicted that the BJP would return to power, the main challenger, the SP-RLD alliance, will also increase its number of seats and votes. Exit polls predicted double-digit numbers for the Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and a single-digit tally for Congress whose campaign this time was led by Priyanka Gandhi. If the exit polls turn out to be accurate and the BJP comes to power, it would be a record for a party re-elected in UP to a second term in more than three decades.

In 2017, the BJP alone won 312 seats while the NDA’s figure was 325. The SP won 47, the BSP 19 and the Congress won seven seats, two less than Apna Dal (S ) at nine. The BJP went to the polls this time with Apna Dal (Sonelal) and the Nishad party while Akhilesh Yadav had formed a rainbow coalition with the RLD and a host of regional parties, including the Suheldev Bhartiya Samaj party ( SBSP) by Om Prakash Rajbhar.

Voting for the politically important state took place in seven rounds beginning Feb. 10.

First post: STI


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button