CMA Awards 2022: nominees, performances and presenters

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WKRN) — The countdown to the 56th annual CMA Awards has begun.

Country music fans across the country gathered outside Bridgestone Arena early Wednesday morning to see 13-time CMA Award winner Keith Urban perform live on Good Morning America. Devoted fans waited over 12 hours to sing along to Urban’s latest single, “Street Called Main.”

Here’s what you need to know ahead of tonight’s show.

CMA Awards: Hosts

County music superstar Luke Bryan and NFL legend Peyton Manning will host the 56th Annual CMA Awards. This will be the second year in a row that Bryan has hosted the awards show, but it will be the first appearance for the VFL and the former Denver Broncos quarterback as host of Country Music’s Biggest Night.

“It’s always a huge honor to be a part of this show,” Bryan said. “He and I are certainly comfortable in the role and it should be a lot of fun.”

CMA Awards: Nominees

CMA Artist of the Year nominees: Luke Combs, Miranda Lambert, Chris Stapleton, Carrie Underwood and Morgan Wallen

Female singer of the year nominees: Miranda Lambert, Ashley McBryde, Carly Pearce, Carrie Underwood and Lainey Wilson

Nominees for Male Vocalist of the Year: Eric Church, Luke Combs, Cody Johnson, Chris Stapleton and Morgan Wallen

Nominees for Album of the Year: Growing up – Luke Combs humble quest – Maren Morris palomino –Miranda Lambert, say what i think –Lainey Wilson and Time, Tequila & Therapy – Old Dominion

New Artist of the Year nominees: HARDY, Walker Hayes, Cody Johnson, Parker McCollum and Lainey Wilson

Vocal Group of the Year Nominees: Lady A, Little Big Town, Midland, Old Dominion and Zac Brown Band.

Nominees for Vocal Duo of the Year: Brooks & Dunn, Osborne Brothers, Dan + Shay, LOCASH and Maddie & Tae

Nominees for Musician of the Year: Jenee Fleenor (violin), Paul Franklin (steel guitar), Brent Mason (guitar), Ilya Toshinskiy (banjo) and Derek Wells (guitar)

Single of the Year nominees:

  • “Buy Dirt” – Jordan Davis featuring Luke Bryan
    Producer: Paul DiGiovanni
    Mixing Engineer: Jim Cooley
  • “Half My Hometown” – Kelsea Ballerini (feat. Kenny Chesney)
    Producers: Kelsea Ballerini, Ross Copperman, Jimmy Robbins
    Mixing engineer: Dan Grech-Marguerat
  • “I never wanted to be that girl” – Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde
    Producers: Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne
    Mixing Engineer: Ryan Gore
  • “Until You Can’t” – Cody Johnson
    Producer: Trent Willmon
    Mixing Engineer: Jack Clarke
  • “You should probably leave” – ​​Chris Stapleton
    Producers: Dave Cobb, Chris Stapleton
    Mixing Engineer: Vance Powell

Song of the Year nominees:

  • “Buying Land”
    Songwriters: Jacob Davis, Jordan Davis, Josh Jenkins, Matt Jenkins
  • “I never wanted to be that girl”
    Songwriters: Shane McAnally, Ashley McBryde, Carly Pearce
  • “Sand in My Boots”
    Songwriters: Ashley Gorley, Michael Hardy, Josh Osborne
  • “What a Man Should Know”
    Songwriters: Jason Nix, Jonathan Singleton, Lainey Wilson
  • “You should probably leave”
    Songwriters: Chris DuBois, Ashley Gorley, Chris Stapleton

Two rewards have already been announced ahead of the event.

Music Event of the Year WINNER: “I never wanted to be that girl” – Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde (Producers: Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne)

Music Video of the Year WINNER: “Until You Can’t” – Cody Johnson (director: Dustin Haney)

CMA Award: Performance

The show will begin with an opening tribute to Loretta Lynn featuring Miranda Lambert, Reba McEntire and Carrie Underwood, honoring the country music legend who died on her Tennessee ranch last month.

Alan Jackson, this year’s recipient of the Willie Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award, will be honored with a performance by Dierks Bentley, Jon Pardi, Carrie Underwood and Lainey Wilson.

Eight special collaborations have been announced for the show:

  • “YOU’RE DRUNK, GO HOME” – Kelsea Ballerini featuring Kelly Clarkson and Carly Pearce
  • “It’s Only Rock & Roll (But I Like It)” – Brothers Osborne featuring The War And Treaty
  • “wait in the truck” – HARDY featuring Lainey Wilson
  • “Great Balls of Fire” – Elle King featuring The Black Keys
  • “When Will I Be Loved” – Ashley McBryde joined by Brandy Clark, Caylee Hammack, Pillbox Patti and John Osborne
  • “Where We Began” – Thomas Rhett and Katy Perry
  • “You’ll Never Leave Harlan Alive” – Chris Stapleton featuring Patty Loveless
  • “Out In The Middle” – Zac Brown Band featuring Jimmie Allen and Marcus King

In addition, you will hear the performances of:

  • Luke Bryan
  • Luc Combes
  • Cody Johnson
  • Miranda Lambert
  • Carly Pearce
  • Cole Swindell
  • Carrie Underwood (clearly a busy night for her!)
  • Morgan Wallen

Host Luke Bryan will perform his single “Country On.” Bryan said he hoped the song would send a patriotic message to audience members. “Just being able to stand on the CMA stage and pay tribute to the hard-working men and women across the country, and the hard-working people who make this country what it is, and this song kind of uplifts these people, hopefully.”

CMA Awards: Presenters

The following people have been announced as presenters for the 56th Annual CMA Awards: Mookie Betts, BRELAND, Jessica Chastain, Jordan Davis, Sarah Drew, Cole Hauser, Tyler Hubbard, Wynonna Judd, Lady A, Rex Linn, Little Big Town, Parker McCollum, Reba McEntire, Ben and Erin Napier, Lionel Richie, Jeannie Seely, Michael Shannon and Lainey Wilson.

The Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tennessee is once again hosting country music’s biggest night. If you can’t be in Music City for the show, you can catch it on ABC tonight at 8/7pm CST.


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button