Chris Billam-Smith put his opponent to sleep before hitting the canvas with a thunderous right hook knockout
Chris Billam-Smith comes up against a heavy hitter in Lawrence Okolie on Saturday night, but he also has his own punch.
Last time out, when Billam-Smith fought Armend Xhoxhaj in December 2022, he recorded arguably his best career knockout.
In the fifth round of their fight, Billam-Smith unleashed a barrage of punches on his opponent and a right hook broke through.
As soon as the crushing blow landed, Xhoxhaj was knocked out, but it took his body a few seconds to realize it as he fell back to the canvas.
Billam-Smith has since reacted to the knockout on sky sportsLooking back at him, as he said, “So I was trying to get inside of him, trying the right uppercut there, and then I’m going with him now on the right uppercut.
“And then I just rallied left and right and then he dropped his hand at the end and I managed to land that right hook that ended the fight and put me in the position that I am now.
“Celebrated like I did because I’ve never knocked someone out like that, so usually I just celebrate umpires and that’s fine.
“But, Shane (McGuigan) rightfully came over and calmed me down.”
Attention then turned to his WBO world title clash on Saturday night with Lawrence Okolie and Billam-Smith was asked by the interviewer: “So nobody can take that power?”
“No, no one,” Billam-Smith replied.
“Laurent? the interviewer said, as Billam-Smith again replied, “No.”