Charlie Austin was baffled by the bizarre decision to deny his goal for QPR which denied them a victory over Sunderland in the Carabao Cup.
The Championship club crashed into the League One side on penalties, as Lee Johnson’s side booked their places in the quarter-finals.
The game ended 0-0 in regulation, but Austin thought he brought home the winner with a deflected shot from Albert Adomah.
The goal was controversially ruled out for offside, with replays clearly showing the striker in play.
Austin has accepted mistakes will happen, but said the decision will be quite costly for the club.
“When I led him I glanced at the linesman and he didn’t raise his flag right away, I waited four or five seconds and that’s only when I celebrated that he raised his flag, ”Austin told talkSPORT Breakfast.
“It was a terrible decision, you could hear the frustration in the manager’s voice afterwards.”
When asked if the officials apologized after the game, Austin replied, “No… I can’t repeat what I said to the linoleum. You know what they are like they just said “it was offside”.
“It was human error, but it has serious consequences for the football club.”
The ruling highlights the fact that the VAR is not used in competition at this stage, in previous years it was used for the semi-finals and finals.
“It’s either we have it in the competition or we don’t,” Austin added. “You can’t just have it in Premier League games, if we want to use it we have to use it for the whole competition.
“Unfortunately that was one of those things, it was human error and I understand, but it’s a hell of a mistake to be wrong.
“I don’t really understand what the thought process is. The keeper is there and the defender is on the line.
“I was not very happy. I’m disappointed that we didn’t win, but also on a personal note for the goal you think “happy days, six-yard open goal, perfect”.
“I guess personally, I don’t get the shoe pin for the green.”
QPR boss Mark Warburton was also stunned by the decision and had to be careful about what he said.
” I just saw him. What can I say without being fined? Said Warburton.
“It’s amazing to be wrong about a major decision in a game of this importance. I was told he was immediately offside by the fourth official.
“I just saw the photo I just saw, wow! It’s a terrible decision that has cost the club in all kinds of ways.
“The photo I just saw, we’re not talking about an inch or a fringe decision. It’s the feet, between Charlie on and off. These types of decisions, you can’t go wrong.
“With what’s at stake, the financial implications for the club, the big crowds at home and away, everything that comes with moving up to the bottom eight, I’ve never been so shocked to see a picture like that one.
“To get this far, you must be wondering what they saw?” I hope that doesn’t get me too much fine.