California’s new 2022 laws include those on bars, ghost guns and schools taking effect July 1


SAN FRANCISCO (KGO) — Every year new laws are passed in California in hopes of solving the problems people face in the Golden State.

Those that take effect July 1, 2022 range from back-to-school hours, firearms and ammunition, and minimum wage.

Here are some new laws that may affect you.

Bartender Safety

Under a new state law, anyone who pours, shakes or mixes an alcoholic beverage must undergo training in order to serve more responsibly and reduce alcohol-related dangers like DUIs. The Responsible Beverage Service Training Program is the result of a bill passed in 2017. It’s a massive undertaking; 56,000 businesses statewide are required to train their employees and have 60 days to do so. The law applies to liquor servers, a broad category covering bartenders, bouncers and servers. Managers must also undergo training.

Late start to school

Children will have the opportunity to get more sleep as a new law restricting early school entry comes into force. In college, classes can start at 8 a.m. at the earliest. For high schools, the limit is 8:30 a.m. Rural school districts have an exemption from the law. The aim is to reduce sleep deprivation in adolescents.

RELATED: New California Mental Health, Traffic and Wage Laws Take Effect Jan. 1

Gun Safety

Two new laws relate to firearms and ammunition. California expands micro-stamping requirements. According to the Giffords Law Center, “Micro-stamping technology allows a firearm to etch a unique microscopic code onto ammunition cartridge cases when the weapon is fired, which identifies the make, model and part number. gun series.” This information can help law enforcement in shooting investigations. Beginning July 1, 2022, the state will tighten the firearms that can be sold in California to ensure they comply with the micro-stamping requirement.

Ghost guns

A loophole for phantom guns regarding domestic violence restraining orders and red flag laws is closing. Ghost Guns are unregistered, untraceable firearms that can be assembled at home. Effective July 1, 2022, these will be included in California’s Red Flag laws, which allow law enforcement and the courts to remove weapons from someone deemed dangerous in order to prevent crimes. Ghost guns can also be included in domestic violence restraining orders.

Minimum wage

There is no change to the statewide minimum wage, but a dozen cities are enacting increases. In the Bay Area, this includes Alameda, Berkeley, Fremont, San Francisco, Emeryville, Foster City and Milpitas. The next time California plans to raise the state minimum wage is January 1, 2023, when it will increase to $15 an hour. Most Bay Area towns already pay more than that.

Golden Gate Bridge Toll

Ok, it’s not a new law, but it increases on July 1st.

This is part of a multi-year toll increase program approved by the Golden Gate Bridge Board of Directors in March 2019. Go here to see the changes.

The video in the media player above shows the laws that came into effect on January 1, 2022.

If you’re on the ABC7 News app, click here to watch live

Copyright © 2022 KGO-TV. All rights reserved.



ABC7

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button