Skip to content
Bruins’ Patrice Bergeron wins Selke Trophy for record 5th time


Patrick Bergeron. John Tlumacki/Globe Staff

Boston Bruins captain Patrice Bergeron won the Selke Trophy as the NHL’s top defensive forward for a record fifth time.

The honor unveiled Sunday before Game 3 of the Eastern Conference Finals could be Bergeron’s last if he decides to retire near his 37th birthday. He doesn’t have a contract for next season and declined to say whether he plans to return for a 19th season.

Bergeron wouldn’t call it a career due to underperformance. He is always at the top of his game.

At 36, Bergeron led the league with 991 game wins and a .619 winning percentage and had the most puck possession among players who skated at least 50 games. He had 65 points in 73 games, trailing longtime teammates Brad Marchand and David Pastrnak in points for the Bruins.

Bergeron winning the Selke for the fifth time broke a tie with Montreal Canadiens Hall of Famer Bob Gainey, who won the award in its first four years. It was his 11th straight season as a finalist – the longest streak in league history, topping Wayne Gretzky’s 10-year run by finishing in the top three by voting for the Hart Trophy as NHL MVP from 1980 to 1989.

Aleksander Barkov of Florida and Elias Lindholm of Calgary were the other finalists voted for by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association. Bergeron was a runaway winner with 160 first-place votes.


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.