Batter should receive LBW even if ball exits leg stump while playing reverse sweep, Ravichandran Ashwin notes

Ravichandran Ashwin felt that a hitter should be deemed ‘LBW’ even at a delivery that throws the outside leg while playing an inverted sweep as it is no longer a blind spot for him. Ashwin also added that it becomes extremely unfair for a batter not to receive LBW even after changing positions.

Ravichandran Ashwin has always been known for his various antics on the pitch. His dismissal by Mankading Joe Buttler in IPL was one of the most discussed dismissals. Now Ashwin has offered a new rule suggestion for a batter playing a reverse sweep or switch shot. Hitters have played different strokes in the modern era and they often play the reverse sweep or the switch stroke. Ashwin is of the opinion that a batter should be called out in such circumstances even if the ball is thrown outside the leg.

“Please play your reverse sweeps, but give us (the bowlers) lbw!” Ashwin said on his YouTube channel. “How can you tell it’s not lbw when you turn (your body and it’s not a blind spot anymore). It’s only a blind spot when you’re in your normal position. Once you played the reverse swipe or the switch shot, it’s not a blind spot anymore. It’s grossly unfair that it’s not ruled lbw,” Ashwin said on his YouTube channel.

Betmatch

Explore the Parimatch review and find out what the best cricket betting bookmaker in India is capable of!

To find

In the single test between England and India. Ravindra Jadeja thrown over the wickets and the stump of the outside leg to Joe Root and Jonny Bairstow. Root tried several times to play reverse swipe, but failed to connect most of them. Bairstow, on the other end, just fended off those bullets. Ashwin said that if the batter changes position, the line outside the leg stump is no longer a blind spot for him and therefore he should be awarded LBW in such cases.

“As a bowler, I tell the batsman my line of attack (over or around the stumps), and I also give a clear outline of my pitch. You come off as a right-handed batsman but switch to a left-handed one,” he explained.

“Try telling Joe Root that if the ball comes from the outside stump of the leg and hits your pad, it’s not a blind spot. If I play it from my original position, it’s a blind spot. But if I turn around, it’s not a blind spot, it’s from the front.”

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here




Sports Grp2

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button