Azerbaijan F1 Grand Prix: UK race start time, qualifying results and TV channel for today’s race


Harles Leclerc starts on pole for today’s Azerbaijan Grand Prix in Baku as the Ferrari ace looks to reclaim the lead in the 2022 Formula One World Championship.

Street circuit racing will be of a very different genre to what fans saw a fortnight ago, with open boulevards and long straights on the coast from the Caspian Sea to a world away from Monaco.

Sergio Perez took victory last time out as Ferrari suffered another malfunction in their bid to deliver Leclerc his first world title. The pair were again fastest in qualifying, with Leclerc taking pole ahead of the Mexican.

Max Verstappen is nine points ahead of Leclerc at the start of the Championship standings and will start third in Baku with Carlos Sainz fourth.


While Leclerc continues to suffer a curse in his home race in Monaco, Verstappen struggled to find his fortune in Baku and never finished on the podium on the track.

A fortnight ago, Mercedes’ struggles continue in Azerbaijan. Lewis Hamilton enters the weekend sixth in the Championship and qualified seventh, while George Russell is on track to maintain his top-five streak as he enters the race fifth.

Here’s everything you need to know before the race…

When is the Azerbaijan F1 Grand Prix?

The Azerbaijan F1 Grand Prix takes place today, Sunday June 12, 2022 around the Baku City Circuit.

What time is the Azerbaijan F1 Grand Prix?

The race starts at 12pm BST on Sunday.

Getty Images

How can I watch the Azerbaijan F1 Grand Prix?

TV channel: The race will be shown live on Sky Sports F1 and Main Event, with coverage starting at 10.30am before the lights go out at noon.

Direct: Sky Sports subscribers can also tune in online via the Sky Go app.

Free Highlights: Channel 4 will broadcast all the highlights of the race unencrypted at 6:30 p.m. on Sunday evening.

Live Blog: You can keep up to date with the race as it happens via Standard Sport’s live blog.

Who is on pole for the Azerbaijan F1 Grand Prix?

Charles Leclerc is on pole for the fourth race in a row after setting a superb final lap in Q3. He will be joined in the front row by Sergio Perez, who was just under three tenths behind the Ferrari.

Max Verstappen will start third with Carlos Sainz fourth as Ferrari and Red Bull continue their dominance.

George Russell qualified fifth and once again got the better of Lewis Hamilton, who started seventh.

standard Sport

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button