Alcantara could award top Cy Young award to Marlins

Sandy Alcantara presents herself as a candidate for the Cy Young Award. If he wins it, it would be a first for the Miami Marlins.

The Marlins have had an MVP in Giancarlo Stanton, but never in the franchise’s three-decade history have they had a winner in Cy Young. Alcantara pitched a full game in a win over St. Louis on Wednesday night. He is 8-3 with a 1.95 ERA.

The Marlins’ Kevin Brown finished second to John Smoltz in the 1996 Cy Young race, and Dontrelle Willis was edged out by Chris Carpenter in 2005. Almost every major league franchise has currently had at least one Cy Young winner and at least one MVP. , but a few are still missing one of these two prizes:

Diamondbacks (MVP): Arizona has won a World Series and has already won five Cy Young Awards in eight years thanks to Randy Johnson and Brandon Webb. However, the Diamondbacks have never had an MVP.

Mets (MVP): The Mets have had seven Cy Young winners but no MVPs. They certainly came close to ending this drought. Tom Seaver was narrowly beaten by Willie McCovey in the Mets’ championship season in 1969, Keith Hernandez finished second to Ryne Sandberg in 1984, and Darryl Strawberry finished second to Kirk Gibson in 1988.

Rangers (Cy Young): Even when Texas won the American League pennants in 2010 and 2011, the starting rotation didn’t really make anyone stand out. In terms of Baseball Reference wins over the replacement stat, a Rangers pitcher’s best season was Mike Minor’s in 2019, when he finished eighth in Cy Young’s vote.

Rays (MVP): David Price and Blake Snell won Cy Young Awards for Tampa Bay, but as befits a team with a reputation for doing more with less, the Rays didn’t have an MVP.

Rockies (Cy Young): The least surprising entry on this list. Coors Field is not conducive to great pitching seasons. Ubaldo Jimenez finished third in the Cy Young vote in 2010.


The Astros made quite a statement during a nine-game streak against the Yankees and Mets, going 7-2. Houston won two straight at home against the Mets, then split four road games against the Yankees. The Astros swept another two-game series against the Mets on the road, then went home and beat the Yankees on Thursday night.

This last game was to be part of a series that was postponed due to the lockout.


Of the teams that have had at least one Cy Young winner, which has currently gone the longest without one?


Michael Perez hit three homers for Pittsburgh in an 8-7 win over Milwaukee on Thursday night. It came a day after Bryan Reynolds hit three homers for the Pirates in a win over Washington that ended the same 8-7.

Perez had four hits in his big game Thursday.


The Cleveland Guardians went 5-3 against Minnesota last month, and they trailed in the eighth inning or later in all five wins. On Wednesday night, Cleveland scored four runs in the bottom of the 10th to beat the Twins 7-6. Josh Naylor hit a two-run homer with two outs to give the Guardians the win.


The Baltimore Orioles haven’t had a Cy Young winner since 1980, when Steve Stone won. It capped a streak in which the Orioles won six Cy Youngs in 12 years. Mike Cuellar (1969), Jim Palmer (1973, 1975 and 1976) and Mike Flanagan (1979) won in addition to Stone.


Follow Noah Trister at


More AP MLB: and


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button