Skip to content
8 GOP representatives who voted against making Juneteenth a national holiday still appeared to be closing their offices: report

Al Drago / Getty Images

  • GOP lawmakers who opposed creating a federal holiday for Juneteenth closed their offices on Friday anyway, BuzzFeed News reported.

  • A total of 14 members of Congress opposed the new holiday and eight of them appeared to be closing their offices.

  • The bill was passed unanimously by the Senate and was signed by President Biden on Thursday.

  • See more stories on the Insider business page.

Eight GOP congressmen who voted against the bill establishing Juneteenth as a federal holiday appeared to close their offices on Friday anyway, BuzzFeed News reported.

As Insider previously reported, 14 House Republicans – Reps Andrew Clyde, Ronny Jackson, Doug LaMalfa, Tom McClintock, Ralph Norman, Mike Rogers, Matt Rosendale, Andy Biggs, Mo Brooks, Scott DesJarlais, Tom Tiffany, Thomas Massie, Paul Gosar, and Chip Roy – earlier this week voted against the June 19 designation, known as Juneteenth, a federal holiday.

A BuzzFeed News reporter went to Capitol Hill and attempted to enter the offices of lawmakers who voted against the bill.

According to the BuzzFeed report, the offices of Reps Paul Gosar, Andy Biggs, Mo Brooks, Mike Rogers, Tom McClintock, Ralph Norman, Andrew Clyde and Ronny Jackson all appeared to have been closed when a reporter attempted to surrender in person.

The other six lawmakers who opposed the bill – Reps Thomas Massie, Matt Rosendale, Scott DesJarlais, Doug LaMalfa, Chip Roy and Tom Tiffany – all had at least one person working in their congressional office on Friday, according to the report. .

Juneteenth recognizes the end of slavery in the United States and specifically celebrates on June 19, 1865, when Union soldiers traveled to Galveston Bay, Texas, and announced that the enslaved African American population of the region was emancipated, Insider previously noted.

While June 19 officially falls on June 19, the new federal holiday was celebrated on Friday since the official date falls on Saturday in 2021.

The bill to create the holiday was passed unanimously by the Senate on Tuesday, as Insider reported. President Joe Biden signed the law on Thursday.

“June 19 marks both the long, hard night of slavery and subjugation and the promise of a brighter morning ahead,” Biden said as he signed the bill Thursday. “This is a day of – in my opinion – deep weight and deep power. A day when we remember the moral stain, the terrible toll that slavery has taken and continues to take on the country.”

Read the original article on Business Insider

Source link