16 Republican governors, including Ivey, call for end of COVID-19 vaccine mandate for international travel

WASHINGTON, DC (WHNT) — 16 Republican governors, including Alabama’s own Governor Kay Ivey, have written a letter to President Biden calling for an end to the nation’s COVID-19 vaccination mandate on international travel.

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), non-US citizens traveling to the United States must present proof of vaccination against COVID-19 before boarding a flight.

The joint letter signed by these 16 governors and addressed to the president stated that revoking this rule “would allow our country to return to normal”.

“The lifting of mask mandates and testing requirements for air travel were steps in the right direction,” the letter claimed. “Now you should end the requirement that all non-U.S. citizen travelers entering the United States be fully vaccinated against COVID-19.”

Alabama Governor Kay Ivey was among the signatories of this letter.

“Once again, I’m proud to stand with my fellow Republican governors in upholding common sense,” Ivey said in a statement. “The bottom line is that the current restrictions on international travel are hurting the US economy, which as of last week is officially in recession.”

Alabama was among many states to implement mask mandates and stay-at-home orders during the height of the COVID-19 pandemic. This first public health order began in March 2020 and lasted until May 31, 2021.

As of August 10, 2022, the state of Alabama has recorded just under 1.5 million cases of COVID-19. Nearly 20,000 people in the state have died from the virus, including 3,224 in 2022 alone.

“This issue has negatively impacted American businesses and our supply chain, and it’s high time to ease the burden on travelers visiting our country for work or leisure,” Ivey continued.

Other governors who signed the joint letter include Kristi Noem (RS.D.), Mike Dunleavy (R-Alaska), Asa Hutchinson (R-Ark.), Brian Kemp (R-Ga.), Brad Little (R -Idaho), Kim Reynolds (R-Iowa), Tate Reeves (R-Miss.), Mike Parson (R-Mo.), Greg Gianforte (R-Mt.), Chris Sununu (RN.H.), Doug Burgum (RN.D.), Kevin Stitt (R-Okla.), Henry McMaster (RS.C.), Bill Lee (R-Tenn.), Glenn Youngkin (R-Va.) and Mark Gordon (R-Wyo. ).

“The rest of the world is coming out of the COVID-19 pandemic and back to normal. It is time for your administration to do the same,” the letter concludes.

Read the full letter here.


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button